The Civil Service Commission is an independent Administrative Agency of government established by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) and vested with the powers to appoint persons to offices and to dismiss and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding such offices in the State civil service. The Commission also acts as an Appellate body to receive appeals and petitions from civil servants, treat and resolve them in line with extant service rules and procedures.

However, in order to speed up actions and allow for devolution of administrative powers, the Constitution empowers the Commission to delegate to Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) the powers to appoint, promote, and discipline officers on salary grade level 01-06 while it handles directly all such matters affecting officers on salary grade level 07-17 on the recommendation of the Senior Staff Management Committees (SSMC) of the various pooling Ministries. At the junior levels, the Commission performs oversight functions of MDAs through the Junior Staff Management Committee (JSMC) where the Commission is usually represented at their meetings to monitor the activities of MDAs and to ensure proper exercise of the Commission’s delegated powers.